Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

Lily and Dunkin

by Donna Gephart

eBook

0 of 2 copies available

Place a hold Read a sample Read a sample
"Gephart has written a story that will speak not just to one specific community, but to humanity as a whole." —VOYA
For readers who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7's, award-winning author Donna Gephart crafts a compelling dual narrative about two remarkable young people: Lily, a transgender girl, and Dunkin, a boy dealing with bipolar disorder. Their powerful story will shred your heart, then stitch it back together with kindness, humor, bravery, and love.

Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you're in the eighth grade.

Dunkin Dorfman, birth name Norbert Dorfman, is dealing with bipolar disorder and has just moved from the New Jersey town he's called home for the past thirteen years. This would be hard enough, but the fact that he is also hiding from a painful secret makes it even worse.

One summer morning, Lily Jo McGrother meets Dunkin Dorfman, and their lives forever change.
A JLG Selection!
An Indie Next Pick!

Amazon Best Book of the Month!
CBC's May Hot Off the Press!
An NAIBA Seasonal Pick!
A New York Public Library Best book for Kids, 2016!
Another Indie Favorite Title
!
Amazon's Top 20 Children's Books of 2016
"Gephart clearly has a lot of heart, and she tells their stories with compassion."—Kirkus

"A thoughtfully and sensitively written work of character-driven fiction that dramatically addresses two important subjects that deserve more widespread attention."—Booklist, starred

"Gephart sympathetically contrasts the physical awkwardness, uncertainty, and longings of these two outsiders during a few tightly-plotted months, building to a crescendo of revelation...[A] valuable portrait of two teenagers whose journeys are just beginning."—PW

"This would be a fantastic addition to any middle grade library collection, and is highly recommended for all ages."—VOYA

"Lily and Dunkin is a delight. Here's a book for anyone who's ever struggled with being different—or anyone who's ever loved someone who bears the burden of difference. . . . Crucial, heart-breaking, and inspiring." —Jennifer Finney Boylan, author of She's Not There and Stuck in the Middle with You

Expand title description text
Publisher: Random House Children's Books

Kindle Book

  • Release date: May 3, 2016

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9780553536768
  • File size: 2080 KB
  • Release date: May 3, 2016

EPUB eBook

  • ISBN: 9780553536768
  • File size: 2080 KB
  • Release date: May 3, 2016


Loading

0 of 2 copies available

Formats

Kindle Book
OverDrive Read
EPUB eBook

Languages

English

Levels

Lexile Score: 680

"Gephart has written a story that will speak not just to one specific community, but to humanity as a whole." —VOYA
For readers who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7's, award-winning author Donna Gephart crafts a compelling dual narrative about two remarkable young people: Lily, a transgender girl, and Dunkin, a boy dealing with bipolar disorder. Their powerful story will shred your heart, then stitch it back together with kindness, humor, bravery, and love.

Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you're in the eighth grade.

Dunkin Dorfman, birth name Norbert Dorfman, is dealing with bipolar disorder and has just moved from the New Jersey town he's called home for the past thirteen years. This would be hard enough, but the fact that he is also hiding from a painful secret makes it even worse.

One summer morning, Lily Jo McGrother meets Dunkin Dorfman, and their lives forever change.
A JLG Selection!
An Indie Next Pick!

Amazon Best Book of the Month!
CBC's May Hot Off the Press!
An NAIBA Seasonal Pick!
A New York Public Library Best book for Kids, 2016!
Another Indie Favorite Title
!
Amazon's Top 20 Children's Books of 2016
"Gephart clearly has a lot of heart, and she tells their stories with compassion."—Kirkus

"A thoughtfully and sensitively written work of character-driven fiction that dramatically addresses two important subjects that deserve more widespread attention."—Booklist, starred

"Gephart sympathetically contrasts the physical awkwardness, uncertainty, and longings of these two outsiders during a few tightly-plotted months, building to a crescendo of revelation...[A] valuable portrait of two teenagers whose journeys are just beginning."—PW

"This would be a fantastic addition to any middle grade library collection, and is highly recommended for all ages."—VOYA

"Lily and Dunkin is a delight. Here's a book for anyone who's ever struggled with being different—or anyone who's ever loved someone who bears the burden of difference. . . . Crucial, heart-breaking, and inspiring." —Jennifer Finney Boylan, author of She's Not There and Stuck in the Middle with You

Expand title description text