Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

The House of Deep Water

ebook
Perfect for fans of The Mothers and Olive Kitteridge, a perceptive and moving literary debut about three women who return home to small-town Michigan only to find their good intentions quickly tangling with their complicated histories.
"Here are voices from the heartland rendered real, raw, and aching. . . . Reminiscent of Celeste Ng's Little Fires Everywhere, this novel announces Jeni McFarland as a writer of our generation." —Aja Gabel, author of The Ensemble
River Bend, Michigan, is the kind of small town most can't imagine leaving, but three women couldn't wait to escape. When each must return—Linda Williams, never sure what she wants; her mother, Paula, always too sure; and Beth DeWitt, one of River Bend's only black daughters, now a mother of two who'd planned to raise her own children anywhere else—their paths collide under Beth's father's roof. As one town struggles to contain all of their love affairs and secrets, a local scandal forces Beth to confront her own devastating past.
Filled with the voices of mothers and daughters, husbands, lovers, and fathers, The House of Deep Water explores motherhood, trauma, love, loss, and new beginnings found in a most unlikely place: home.

Expand title description text
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group

Kindle Book

  • Release date: April 21, 2020

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9780525542377
  • Release date: April 21, 2020

EPUB ebook

  • ISBN: 9780525542377
  • File size: 1088 KB
  • Release date: April 21, 2020

Loading
Loading

Formats

Kindle Book
OverDrive Read
EPUB ebook

subjects

Fiction Literature

Languages

English

Perfect for fans of The Mothers and Olive Kitteridge, a perceptive and moving literary debut about three women who return home to small-town Michigan only to find their good intentions quickly tangling with their complicated histories.
"Here are voices from the heartland rendered real, raw, and aching. . . . Reminiscent of Celeste Ng's Little Fires Everywhere, this novel announces Jeni McFarland as a writer of our generation." —Aja Gabel, author of The Ensemble
River Bend, Michigan, is the kind of small town most can't imagine leaving, but three women couldn't wait to escape. When each must return—Linda Williams, never sure what she wants; her mother, Paula, always too sure; and Beth DeWitt, one of River Bend's only black daughters, now a mother of two who'd planned to raise her own children anywhere else—their paths collide under Beth's father's roof. As one town struggles to contain all of their love affairs and secrets, a local scandal forces Beth to confront her own devastating past.
Filled with the voices of mothers and daughters, husbands, lovers, and fathers, The House of Deep Water explores motherhood, trauma, love, loss, and new beginnings found in a most unlikely place: home.

Expand title description text