Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

Broken People

Audiobook
A Vogue Most Anticipated Book of 2020
An O, The Oprah Magazine "LGBTQ Book That Will Change the Literary Landscape in 2020"
"Profound and affecting."—Chloe Benjamin
"Broken People leads us through the winds of time and memory to offer a riveting portrait of transformation. I am better for having read it."—Jamie Lee Curtis
A groundbreaking, incandescent debut novel about coming to grips with the past and ourselves, for fans of Sally Rooney, Hanya Yanagihara and Garth Greenwell
"He fixes everything that's wrong with you in three days."
This is what hooks Sam when he first overhears it at a fancy dinner party in the Hollywood hills: the story of a globe-trotting shaman who claims to perform "open-soul surgery" on emotionally damaged people. For neurotic, depressed Sam, new to Los Angeles after his life in New York imploded, the possibility of total transformation is utterly tantalizing. He's desperate for something to believe in, and the shaman—who promises ancient rituals, plant medicine and encounters with the divine—seems convincing, enough for Sam to sign up for a weekend under his care.
But are the great spirits the shaman says he's summoning real at all? Or are the ghosts in Sam's memory more powerful than any magic?
At turns tender and acid, funny and wise, Broken People is a journey into the nature of truth and fiction—a story of discovering hope amid cynicism, intimacy within chaos and peace in our own skin.

Expand title description text
Publisher: Harlequin Audio Edition: Unabridged

OverDrive Listen audiobook

  • ISBN: 9781488208454
  • File size: 251847 KB
  • Release date: June 9, 2020
  • Duration: 08:44:40

MP3 audiobook

  • ISBN: 9781488208454
  • File size: 251879 KB
  • Release date: June 9, 2020
  • Duration: 08:49:39
  • Number of parts: 9

Formats

OverDrive Listen audiobook
MP3 audiobook

subjects

Fiction Literature

Languages

English

A Vogue Most Anticipated Book of 2020
An O, The Oprah Magazine "LGBTQ Book That Will Change the Literary Landscape in 2020"
"Profound and affecting."—Chloe Benjamin
"Broken People leads us through the winds of time and memory to offer a riveting portrait of transformation. I am better for having read it."—Jamie Lee Curtis
A groundbreaking, incandescent debut novel about coming to grips with the past and ourselves, for fans of Sally Rooney, Hanya Yanagihara and Garth Greenwell
"He fixes everything that's wrong with you in three days."
This is what hooks Sam when he first overhears it at a fancy dinner party in the Hollywood hills: the story of a globe-trotting shaman who claims to perform "open-soul surgery" on emotionally damaged people. For neurotic, depressed Sam, new to Los Angeles after his life in New York imploded, the possibility of total transformation is utterly tantalizing. He's desperate for something to believe in, and the shaman—who promises ancient rituals, plant medicine and encounters with the divine—seems convincing, enough for Sam to sign up for a weekend under his care.
But are the great spirits the shaman says he's summoning real at all? Or are the ghosts in Sam's memory more powerful than any magic?
At turns tender and acid, funny and wise, Broken People is a journey into the nature of truth and fiction—a story of discovering hope amid cynicism, intimacy within chaos and peace in our own skin.

Expand title description text
  • Details

    Publisher:
    Harlequin Audio
    Edition:
    Unabridged

    OverDrive Listen audiobook
    ISBN: 9781488208454
    File size: 251847 KB
    Release date: June 9, 2020
    Duration: 08:44:40

    MP3 audiobook
    ISBN: 9781488208454
    File size: 251879 KB
    Release date: June 9, 2020
    Duration: 08:49:39
    Number of parts: 9

  • Creators
  • Formats
    OverDrive Listen audiobook
    MP3 audiobook
  • Languages
    English